Donor Lists

Lifetime Donors

We gratefully recognize the individuals and corporations/foundations who have generously donated $250,000 and above to the University of Kansas William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications.

Corporate/Foundation Donors:

  • Estate of Mary Jane Floersch
  • The Freedom Forum
  • William Randolph Hearst Foundation
  • John S. & James L. Knight Foundation
  • McCormick Foundation
  • Louis L. & Adelaide C.Ward Foundation

Individual Donors:

  • Malcolm W. Applegate &
  • Constance L. Applegate
  • Mary D. Austin
  • Dennis N. Branstiter
  • Richard C. Clarkson
  • Hubert M. Floersch, MD
  • Mary Haynes Floersch
  • Steven C. Frazier & Elizabeth A. Leech
  • John P. Kaiser & Mary S. Kaiser
  • Michael C. Kirk & Julia Turtle Kirk
  • Linda Ward O’Hara
  • Charles L. Parcell & Alice C. Parcell
  • Diane Gray Quinn
  • Robert P. Sigman
  • John H. Stauffer Sr. & Barbara E. Stauffer
  • Oscar S. Stauffer & Cornelia Stauffer
  • Ruth Granger Stauffer
  • William Keith Swinehart Sr. & Maxine Swinehart
  • Adelaide C.Ward & Louis L. Ward

This listing is for lifetime donations, not donations made just within the calendar year. This list of donor names is strictly for the purpose of acknowledgement by the School of Journalism. Any other use is unauthorized. Although every effort has been made to ensure the completeness and accuracy of this listing, errors may occur.

Deans Club

Deans Club members are those generous alumni who give back to the William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications with a contribution of $1,000 or more annually. 

These contributions are crucial to the success of the J-School and provide unrestricted support for the J-School’s initiatives. Matching gifts from corporations are included as part of Deans Club contributions.

“Without the support of our Deans Club members, we wouldn’t be able to provide the exceptional level of service that students and alumni deserve,” Journalism Dean Ann Brill said.

Deans Club dollars fund special initiatives in the School of Journalism, including:

  • Providing funds for student travel
  • Hosting special events for students and faculty
  • Funding for student and faculty achievement awards
  • Recruiting and retaining faculty
  • Providing scholarship support for students
  • Hosting visiting professionals who speak with students and faculty
  • Giving students and faculty the opportunity to take part in special educational programs 

Deans Club Giving Levels:

  • Ambassador Level: $10,000 and above
  • Benefactor Level: $5,000 to $9,999
  • Patron Level: $3,000 to $4,999
  • Member Level: $1,000 to $2,999

The following are donations made during the 2018 calendar year.

Corporate Deans Club


Callahan Creek

Emporia Community Foundation

Kansas Creative Arts Industries Commission

Kansas Newspaper Foundation

Kansas Press Association Inc.

William T. Kemper Foundation

Kirk Foundation

Muller Bressler Brown

Trusler Foundation Inc.

Deans Club Ambassadors

John W. Armstrong Jr. & Karen G. Armstrong

Danforth W. Austin & Gail Davenport Austin

Brian A. Bracco & Sarah Wallace Bracco

Ann M. Brill, PhD

Carl V. Ceder

James T. Chastain

Kyle T. Craig & Elyse Winick Craig

Charlotte Kirk Howard & W. Jeffrey Howard

Carole Jackson Moreno

Fred J. Salinas

Gerald F. Seib & Barbara Rosewicz

Valerie Wolf

Deans Club Benefactors

CDR Daniel G. Felger, USN, Retired & Jean Herz

Robert D. Karwath Jr.

William J. Redlin & Nina M. Redlin

Linda M. Sobieski & Rodney J. Sobieski

Deans Club Patrons

Stephen D. Edwards & Donna J. Edwards

Michael J. Happe &

Shannon M. Fitzsimmons-Happe

Gary M. Smith

Mary Sullivan

Deans Club Members

Leonard P. Alfano & Deborah Taylor Alfano

Conrad N. Bibens

Kelly Cannon Boeckman

Lisa Massoth Brinig & Brian P. Brinig

Marc A. Buehler

Kathleen M. Conkey

Paul I. Dinovitz & Cathy Dinovitz

John A. Frazee

Jane Peterson Ganz

Jeffrey V. Gaskill

Sally Gaskill

Mugur V. Geana & Anca Geana

Robert H. Giles & Nancy M. Giles

Cathy L. Gleason & Daniel J. Gleason

David W. Guth & Maureen Manning Guth

Dorothy Boller Hall & John P. Hall

Roger W. Heineken

Shirley Bush Helzberg & Barnett C. Helzberg Jr.

Britton Hunter

Donald A. Hunter

Kendra C. Jenkins

Blaine L. King & Lyndel S. King

Dr. Joseph A. Kotarba & Polly Kotarba

Evie Lazzarino

Daniel B. Marshall III

Mark A. Mears & Stacy M. Mears

David A. Mikols & Julie Updegraff Mikols

Rand Mikulecky & Susan Pott Mikulecky

Grant S. Moise & Kathryn E. Martin-Moise

Eric M. Morgenstern & Shanny R. Morgenstern

Eric Nelson & Colleen McCain Nelson

Randy O’Boyle

Marilyn Zook Petterson & Michael T. Petterson

Mary Ann Powell & Nick Powell

Sally L. Reece

Kenneth M. Richards, MD & Beth Varvel Richards

Kathleen A. Saunders & Ronald K. Saunders

Susanne M. Shaw

Daniel J. Simon Jr. & Heidi J. Simon

Lynn Singer & Kenneth Singer

Frank Slover & Deborah W. Slover

Terri Hill Snyder & Steven A. Snyder

Kenneth F. Stephens

Craig A. Stock

Lynn Beall Trelstad

John K.White

Lorie Walker Worner & Rick Worner

The above list of donor names is strictly for the purpose of acknowledgement by the School of Journalism. Any other use is unauthorized. Although every effort has been made to ensure the completeness and accuracy of this listing, errors may occur.

Become a Jayhawk - Apply Today


Marlys Shulda
Associate Development Director
KU Endowment Association
1891 Constant Avenue
Lawrence, KS 66047